International Law Office

Latest updates

Iwam Jaeger

Superior Court of Justice clarifies inapplicability of Consumer Protection Code to cargo claims

Shipping & Transport - Brazil
Kincaid | Mendes Vianna Advogados

The 2nd Section of the Superior Court of Justice has unified the court's understanding of the applicable time bar for a subrogated insurer to pursue a claim for damages which occurred during maritime transport.

Jessica Williams

Court declines to restrain foreign trust proceedings

Litigation - Cayman Islands
Harney Westwood & Riegels LLP

The recent Grand Court decision in T Co v AA, BB, CC, DD, EE (a minor) is a good reminder of the court's approach to service out of the jurisdiction and provides insight on the scope of jurisdiction clauses contained in trust instruments..

Merete Furesund

Travel time is working time: Supreme Court confirms EFTA Court's approach

Employment & Benefits - Norway
Homble Olsby Advokatfirma AS

The Supreme Court recently concluded that time spent travelling on an employer's orders constitutes working time.

Christine Reilly

Proposed legislation, testimony and proposed rulemaking on robocalls

Telecoms - USA
Manatt Phelps & Phillips LLP

Robocalls are a hot topic in Washington DC, with new proposed legislation, testimony from the Federal Trade Commission regarding its efforts to combat the problem and a second further notice of proposed rulemaking from the Federal Communications Commission having all been released in the past few months.

Liam Heylin

Non-compete clauses – staying within the boundaries

Competition & Antitrust - Ireland

Non-compete clauses can provide important protection for purchasers who have a legitimate interest in maintaining the value of the business they are acquiring.

Brandon Heard

Ontario Court of Appeal dismisses summary judgment appeal in Section 8 case

Healthcare & Life Sciences - Canada
Smart & Biggar/Fetherstonhaugh

The Ontario Court of Appeal recently dismissed Abbott and Takeda's appeal of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice's decision to dismiss their motion for summary judgment in an action brought by Apotex under Section 8 of the Patented Medicines (Notice of Compliance) Regulations.



Three’s a crowd? Third-party arbitration funding

Arbitration & ADR / Canada, Cyprus, Greece, India, Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom


Uber-complex: regulating ride-hail services

Shipping & Transport / Finland, USA


Competition and antitrust in the digital age

Competition & Antitrust / Bulgaria, Czech Republic, European Union, Hungary, Mexico, Pakistan, Poland, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey